Football News

Class 1A Football End of the Season Awards

Class 1A Football End of the Season Awards

Photos by Teresa O’Dwyer

My 2020 Class 1A End of the Season Awards.  Picking is never easy and usually takes me a while to decide on any of these awards. I physically could not make every game, so I used stats, read newspaper articles, and tried to watch any film available.  I will not lie, and I leaned heavily towards teams that made the playoffs for picking First/Second team all-State.  If you would like an award mailed or emailed to you, please message me on Facebook or Email at Remember these awards are not from CHSAA but from Mile High Prep Report, CHSAAA will release the official All State Awards soon.

Quick Note: If your team has not posted stats it is very hard for me to give awards to players with no stats even if your team is doing good, I cannot guess stats.  Also only 1 player per offense and defensive teams.

One other Note: Being a lineman in high school it also hurt me inside not giving any offensive lineman awards.  Just know that everyone on this list needs a good offensive line!

Player of the Year

Kory Tacha Sr. Limon High School; 740 yards rushing, 8.2 yards per carry, 13 Rushing TDs, 36 Tackles, 2 TFL, 1 INT, 8 Punt Returns averaging 21.6 yard per return

Photos by Teresa O’Dwyer

Player of the Playoffs

Collin Russell Sr. Strasburg High School; 242 yards passing, 182 yards rushing, and 5 Total TDs in the Playoffs. 

Pictures by Vibrant Valley Photography

Offensive Player of the Year

Kory Tacha Sr. Limon High School; 740 yards rushing, 8.2 yards per carry, 13 Rushing TDs, played just 4 regular season games.

Photos by Teresa O’Dwyer

Defensive Player of the Year

Joey Beckner Sr. Holyoke High School; 78 Total Tackles, 23 TFL, and 15 Sacks

Picture by OTSportsCHek

Newcomer of the Year: (New Award given to either a Freshman or Sophomore)

Cole Kerr So. Wiggins High School; 747 yards passing, 49.6 Completion %, 3 Passing TDs, 827 yards rushing, and 10 Rushing TDs

Picture by OTSportsChek

Special Teams Player of the Year (Given to Kicker, Kick Returner or Punt Returner)

Blaine Peebles Jr. Hotchkiss High School; 7 Punt Returns averaging 30.9 yard per return, 5 Kickoff Returns averaging 28.6 yards per return, 3 Punt Returns for TDs, 17 Punts averaging 19.9 yards per punt

Surprise team of the Year

Hotchkiss High School

Coach of the Year

Mike O’Dwyer Limon High School

Position Awards:

QB of the Year: Tyler Collins Sr. Wray HS; 1178 yards passing, 60.4 completion %, 13 TDs, 8 INTs, 1232 yards rushing and 18 rushing TDs

RB of the Year: Kory Tacha Sr. Limon HS; 740 yards rushing, 8.2 yards per carry and 13 rushing TDs

WR of the Year: Baron Holman Jr. Centauri HS; 478 yards receiving, 19.1 yards per catch, 6 TDs

Most Tackles: Mason Claunch Jr. Centauri HS; 99 Total Tackles (17 Solo & 82 Assists)

Most Sacks: Joey Beckner Sr. Holyoke HS; 15 Sacks

Most Tackles for Loss: Joey Beckner Sr. Holyoke HS; 23 TFL

Most Interceptions: Nate Early Jr. Banning Lewis HS; 7 INTs

Class 1A MileHigh Prep Report All-State Teams

1st Team Offense

QB Tyler Collins Sr. Wray High School

QB Ryan Phelan Sr. Meeker High School

QB Collin Russell Sr. Strasburg High School

QB Mckay Russell Sr. Centauri High School

QB Trey Hines Jr. Limon High School

RB Mason Claunch Jr. Centauri High School

RB Kory Tacha Sr. Limon High School

RB Trystan Graf Sr. Strasburg High School

RB Holden Morgan Sr. Highland High School

RB Jeremiah Leeper Jr. Limon High School

RB Owen Busetti Sr. Florence High School

WR Baron Holman Jr. Centauri High School

WR Bryant Schoenthal Jr. Wray High School

Limon Offensive Line

Strasburg Offensive Line

Wray Offensive Line

2nd Team Offense

QB Miles Sprague Jr. Holyoke

QB Sam Hzindil Jr. Highland

QB Yahir Chavez Sr. Hotchkiss

QB Caleb Stockton Sr. Colorado Springs Christian

RB Clay Robinson Jr. Yuma High School

RB Kelton Turner Jr. Meeker High School

RB Joe Dunn Sr. Colorado Springs Christian

RB Mordecai White Jr. Hotchkiss High School

WR Junior Arambula Sr. Wray High School

WR Spud White Sr. Meeker High School

Centauri Offensive Line

Hotchkiss Offensive Line

Florence Offensive Line

Honorable Mention (I am sure I will miss someone)

Kaden Levi Jr. Banning Lewis, Cole Kerr So. Wiggins, Gabe Tucson Jr. Ignacio, Nico Marchitelli Sr. Gunnison, Colton Mellott Jr. Monte Vista, Jacob Brown Sr. Cedaredge, Mac Copeland Sr. Bennett, Dylan Meredith Sr. Prospect Ridge, Jeremy Woodward Sr. Meeker, Jacob Kennedy Jr. Florence, Conner Brookers Sr. Cedaredge, Allen Hardey Jr. Platte Canyon, C.S Christian Offensive Line, Meeker Offensive Line, Highland Offensive Line, Holyoke Offensive Line, Monte Vista offensive Line

1st Team Defense

Joey Beckner Sr. Holyoke High School

Zach Buhr Jr. Centauri High School

Traycer Hall Sr. Hotchkiss High School

Ky Bandy Jr. Limon High School

Alexis Aguilar Sr. Wray High School

Cobi Garcia Sr. Monte Vista High School

A.J Hemphill Sr. Strasburg High School

Danny Brady Jr. Centauri High School

Drayden Taylor Jr. Hotchkiss High School

Tell Wade So. Wray High School

Rion Chavez Sr. Colorado Springs Christian

Severin Grundvig Sr. Colorado Spring Christian

Matthias Brown Jr. Strasburg High School

Jack Swanson Sr. Strasburg High School

2nd Team Defense

Kaysen Schmidt Sr. Limon High School

John Jaklich Sr. Limon High School

Lupe Cervantes Sr. Monte Vista High School

Carter Neff Jr. Hotchkiss High School

Brandon Hussey Sr. Peyton High School

Deklan Wilk Sr. Prospect Ridge

Coulson Hollembeak Jr. Hotchkiss High School

Colby Clatterbaugh Sr. Meeker High School

Brady Collins So. Wray High School

Wyatt Sprague Fr. Holyoke High School

Ben Tailleur Jr. Centauri High School

Gavin Schnider Sr. Highland High School

Tyrese Otero Sr. Monte Vista High School

Honorable Mention (I am sure I will miss someone)

Robert Cochran Sr. Hotchkiss, Jack Noonan Fr. Monte Vista, Sam Buckhanan Jr. Gunnison, Brody Wagner Sr. Cedaredge, Cade Killin Jr. Holyoke, Micah Defield Sr. Hotchkiss, Jian Agular Jr. Florence, Colton Pettit Sr. Highland, Parker Franz Sr. Burlington, Hunter Pacheco Jr. Monte Vista, Cody Dubois Sr. Bennett, Bijah Cornell Sr. Florence, Adam Smith Sr. Hotchkiss, Zak Cobb Jr. Peyton, Byron Shawcroft Jr. Centauri, Nate Early Jr. Banning Lewis, Alex Rodriguez Sr. Prospect RIdge