Football News

MileHigh Prep Report Class 2A Regular Season Awards

Picture by (La Junta Tiger Fans)
la unta vs kent 2
Picture by (La Junta Tiger Fans)
Picture by (La Junta Tiger Fans)

MileHigh Prep Report Class 2A Regular Season Awards

My 2018 Class 2A Regular Season Awards.  Picking these players is never easy and usually takes me a while to decide on any of these awards.  I am stuck using Maxpreps for stats unless they are sent to me.  I used the state on Maxpreps on 10/30.  I physically could not make every game, so I used stats and tried to watch any film available.  I will not lie, and I leaned heavily towards teams that made the playoffs for picking First/Second teams.

Quick Note: If your team has not posted stats it is very hard for me to give awards to players with no stats even if your team is doing good I cannot guess stats.

One other Note: Being a lineman in high school it also hurt me inside not giving any offensive lineman awards.  So, this year I have decided to give two offensive line groups into my First and Second team offenses.

Player of the Year: Jon Nuschy Sr. La Junta High School; 690 yards passing, 9 TDs, 3 INTs, 1172 yards rushing 15 TDs, 39 Tackles, 4 Interceptions, and scored 98 points on offense.

Offensive Player of the Year: Jon Nuschy Sr. La Junta High School; 690 yards passing, 9 TDs and 1172 yards rushing, 15 TDs

Defensive Player of the Year: Ty Garnhart Sr. Eaton High School; 68 Tackles, 8 TFL, 8.5 Sacks, 2 Fumble Recoveries, 6 Caused Fumbles, and 1 Defensive Touchdown

QB of the Year: Tyler Ward So. Aspen High School; 2,202 yards passing, 26 TDs and 8 INTs.

RB of the Year: Tanner Vines Sr. Rifle High School; 1,987 yards rushing and 19 TD’s

WR of the Year: Isaac Harris Sr. Sterling High School; 902 yards receiving and 11 TD’s

Most Tackles: Matthew Broughton Sr. Montezuma-Cortez; 123 Total Tackles (62 Solo & 61 Asst)

Most Sacks: Isaac Lorenzen Sr. Bayfield High School; 10 Sacks and Peter Kuppinger Resurrection Christian High School; 10 Sacks

Most Interceptions: Jack Farmer Jr. Machebeuf 8 Interceptions and Damian Ramos So. Lamar High School 8 Interceptions.

Surprise team of the Year: Montezuma-Cortez (2-6 Last Year and 4-5 this year and into the playoffs)

Coach of the Year: Gary Heide Bayfield High School

Class 2A MileHigh Prep Report Offensive and Defensive Teams

Offense 1st Team

QB Jon Nuschy Sr. La Junta High School

QB Tyler Ward So. Aspen High School

RB Tanner Vines Sr. Rifle High School

RB Jake Reardon Sr. Basalt High School

WR Isaac Harris Sr. Sterling High School

Offensive Line-La Junta High School

Offensive Line-Bayfield High School

Offense 2nd Team

QB Trevon Wehrman Sr. Platte Valley High School

QB Joey Licht Sr. Kent Denver High School

RB Vince Deleo Sr. Salida High School

RB Nick Wellen Jr. Brush High School

WR Max Ufkes Jr. Aspen High School

Offensive Line-Rifle High School

Offensive Line-Kent Denver High School

Honorable Mention

Evan Willis Sr. D’Evelyn, Brock Shalla Jr. Sterling HS, Mason Robertson Jr. Englewood HS, Ike Dennision Sr. Montezuma-Cortez, Reece Ullery Sr. Elizabeth, David Nagy Sr. Faith Christian, Luca Mcintyre Sr. D’Evelyn.  Zach Gray Sr. Classical Academy.

Faith Christian Offensive Line, Platte Valley Offensive Line, Berthoud Offensive Line, Aspen Offensive Line.

Defense 1st Team

Ty Garnhart Sr. Eaton High School

Matthew Broughton Sr. Montezuma-Cortez

David Hawkins Sr. Bayfield High School

Danny Pelphrey Sr. Berthoud High School

Zane Zuhlke Sr. Resurrection Christian

Tai Kim Sr. Basalt High School

Defense 2nd Team

Isaac Lorenz Sr. Bayfield High School

Ty Beaman Sr. Berthoud High School

Aiden Barrios Sr. Delta High School

Hunter Clark Sr. Salida High School

Brady Sullivan Sr. D’Evelyn High School

Peter Kuppinger Sr. Resurrection Christian

Honorable Mention

Brock Johnson Sr. Berthoud, Rhodes Fotopuos Sr. Kent Denver, Cash Mueller So. Alamosa, Connor Aragon Sr. Pagosa Springs, Damian Ramos So. Lamar, Carter Pressler Jr. Rifle, Tanner Applebee Resurrection Christian, Noah Miles Sr. D’Evelyn, Jaxon Samsel Sr. University, Jack Farmer Jr. Machebeuf, Michael Osgood Sr. Faith Christian, Ernesto Rios Platte Valley