Football News

Class 2A Football End of the Season Awards

OTSports Shalla
Photo by Joe Skerjanec

Class 2A Football End of the Season Awards

My 2019 Class 2A End of the Season Awards.  Picking is never easy and usually takes me a while to decide on any of these awards. I physically could not make every game, so I used stats and tried to watch any film available.  I will not lie, and I leaned heavily towards teams that made the playoffs for picking First/Second team all-State.  If you would like an award mailed or emailed to you please message me on Facebook or Email at

Quick Note: If your team has not posted stats it is very hard for me to give awards to players with no stats even if your team is doing good, I cannot guess stats.

One other Note: Being a lineman in high school it also hurt me inside not giving any offensive lineman awards.  Just know that everyone on this list needs a good offensive line!

Player of the Year

Brock Shalla Sr. Sterling High School; 1913 yards passing, 47.7 Completion %, 20 TDs and 7 INTs, 524 yards rushing and 7 rushing TDs, Led Sterling to their first State Title.

OTSports Shalla
Photo by Joe Skerjanec

Player of the Playoffs

Nolan Bynum Jr. Delta High School; 856 yards passing in the Playoffs, 9 TD passes in the playoffs, Led Delta into the State Championship Game.

OTSports Nolan Bynum.jpg
Photo by Joe Skerjanec

Offensive Player of the Year

Brock Shalla Sr. Sterling High School; 1913 yards passing, 47.7 Completion %, 20 TDs and 7 INTs, 524 yards rushing and 7 rushing TDs, 60% of Sterling total offensive yards thru Brock Shalla.

OTSports Shalla 2
Photo by Joe Skerjanec

Defensive Player of the Year

Tanner Applebee Jr. Resurrection Christian; 121 Tackles, 42 Tackle for loss, 32.5 Sacks, 2 Interceptions, 1 caused fumble, 7 Fumble recovery’s, 2 blocked punts, and 3 Defensive TDs

OTSports Applebee
Photo by Joe Skerjanec

Newcomer of the Year: (New Award given to either a Freshman or Sophomore)

Cade Palmer So. Classical Academy; 1355 yards rushing, 6.3 yards per carry, 14 Total TDs, Finished 3rd in rushing in Class 2A.

Special Teams Player of the Year (Given to Kicker, Kick Returner or Punt Returner)

Ku Moo Sr. Delta High School; 44 of 48 on PATs (90%), 8 of 9 on Field Goals (90%), Made a game winning 40 yard Field Goal to beat Faith Christian in the Playoffs.

Surprise team of the Year

Lamar finished the season at 8-3 and a first Round Playoff Win.  This was Lamar first playoff win in nearly 10 years.  Lamar finished 4-5 in 2018 and 1-8 in 2017.

Coach of the Year

Rob Busmente Sterling High School

Sterling Coaches

Position Awards:

QB of the Year: Nolan Bynum Jr. Delta HS; 2556 yards passing, 58.6 Completion %, 34 TDs, and 7 Interceptions

RB of the Year: Levi Warfel Sr. Rifle HS; 1872 yards rushing, 9.5 yards per carry, and 26 TDs

WR of the Year: Hunter Hughes Sr. Delta HS; 1026 yards receiving, 17 TDs

Most Tackles: Gabe Estrada Sr. Lamar HS; 154 Tackles (59 Solo & 95 Asst)

Most Sacks: Tanner Applebee Jr. Resurrection Christian; 32.5 Sacks (20 more than second)

Most Tackles for Loss: Tanner Applebee Jr. Resurrection Christian, 42.0 Tackles for Loss

Most Interceptions: Eddie Lemos So. Resurrection Christian; 7 Interceptions

Class 2A MileHigh Prep Report All-State Teams

1st Team Offense

QB Nolan Bynum Jr. Delta High School

QB Brock Shalla Sr. Sterling High School

QB Buck Coors Sr. Resurrection Christian

QB Tyler Ward Jr. Aspen High School

RB Levi Warfel Sr. Rifle High School

RB Erick Granados Sr. Faith Christian

RB Walker Kee Sr. Lamar High School

RB Nick Wellen Sr. Brush High School

WR Hunter Hughes Sr. Delta High School

WR Thomas Lowry Sr. D’Evelyn High School

Sterling Offensive Line

Delta Offensive Line

Kicker Ku Moo Sr. Delta High School

2nd Team Offense

QB Zane Rankin Jr. Lamar High School

QB Mason Robertson Sr. Englewood High School

QB Matty Gillis Jr. Basalt High School

QB Chayden Cox Sr. University

RB Cade Palmer So. Classical Academy

RB Paden Bailey Sr. Pagosa Springs High School

RB Mac Copeland Jr. Bennett High School

RB Luke Smith Sr. Alamosa High School

WR Nate Gravagno Jr. Englewood High School

WR Blake Buxton Jr. Lamar High School

Resurrection Christian Offensive Line

Rifle Offensive Line

Honorable Mention(I am sure I will miss someone)

Shane Bishop Jr. D’Evelyn, Brandon Boston Sr. The Academy, Colin Kucera Jr. Woodland Park, Zayne Walker Sr. Salida, Kade Mcdaniel Jr. Platte Valley, Scott Grable Jr Eaton, Ryan Schmitt Jr. Machebeuf, Seth Hagan Sr. Prospect Ridge, Darius Richards Sr. Machebeuf, Kenny Tlaxcala Sr. Rifle, Cael Schaefer So. Bayfield, Kevin Hernandez Sr. Moffat County, Garbriel Espinosa Jr. The Academy, Jackson Rappaport Sr. Basalt, Ben Fuller Sr. Salida, Basalt Offensive Line, Lamar Offensive Line, Faith Christian Offensive Line, Platte Valley Offensive Line, Eaton Offensive Line, Classical Academy Offensive Line

1st Team Defense

Tanner Applebee Jr. Resurrection Christian

Gabe Estrada Sr. Lamar High School

Josh Yancey Sr. Platte Valley High School

Yakez Daughtry Sr. Englewood High School

James Goff Jr. Delta High School

Cash Mueller Jr. Alamosa High School

Drew Book Sr. Sterling High School

Brandon Butler Sr. Delta High School

Eddie Lemos Sr. Resurrection Christian

Zach Busmente Sr. Sterling High School

Cole Palmer Sr. Classical Academy

2nd Team Defense

Austin Burdette Jr. Berthoud High School

Dylan Kohlbrenner Jr. The Academy

Alberto Perez Sr. Platte Valley High School

Nathan Workman Sr. Delta High School

John Foutz Sr. Bayfield High School

Justin Hawthorne So. Resurrection Christian

Taggyrt Moses Sr. Weld Central High School

Lander Mcnamee Sr. Basalt High School

Keaton Knaub Jr. Sterling High School

Honorable Mention (I am sure I will miss someone)

Evan Laraby Sr. Middle Park, Seth Sperger Sr. Faith Christian, Ben Faust Sr. Eaton, Kase Sundarapura Jr. D’Evelyn, Keaton Knaub Jr. Sterling, Josiah Hazard Sr. Englewood, Quincy Hansen Sr. Faith Christian, Kane Absmeier Jr. Alamosa, Jordan Hirman Jr. Elizabeth, Jesus Gonzalez Jr. Lamar, Sander Sveen Jr. Kent Denver, Kyle Brumley Middle Park, Ryland Boehmer Fr. The Academy, Colby Wilson Sr. Delta, Ernesto Lopez Sr. Basalt, Gauge Lockhart Sr. Delta, Matias Lopez Sr. Woodland Park, Jaden Waller Jr D’Evelyn, Jaxon Mccracken Sr. Sterling, Peyton Rose Jr. Sterling, Brady Albrandt Sr. Sterling, AJ Goldfain Jr. Resurrection Christian, Sam Sherry So. Basalt, Peter Zimmerman Jr. Basalt, Gabe Montes Sr. Platte Valley. Dakota Powell Sr. Eaton, Jordan Despues Jr. Bennett, Grant Aucoin Jr. Pagosa Springs, Jesse Camp Sr. Salida