Football News

MileHigh Prep Reports Class 2A Football End of the Season Awards

Class 2A Football End of the Season Awards

My 2022 Class 2A Football End of the Season Awards.  Picking is never easy and usually takes me a while to decide on any of these awards. I physically could not make every game, so I used stats and tried to watch any film available.  Making the playoffs and having a deep playoff run will matter with these awards.  Also, if you think I miss anyone I am open to looking at who you think I missed.  These are not easy to come up with.

Quick Note: If your team has not posted stats it is very hard for me to give awards to players with no stats even if your team is doing good, I cannot guess stats.

One other Note: For Offensive Lineman I am listing the entire Unit! If you know the name on the Unit Message me and I will add.  Remember all successful teams need a good offensive line!

Quick Note: Only one team per player, you cannot be on both offense or defense.

Player of the Year

Walker Martin Sr. Eaton High School; 2076 passing yards, 66.7% Completion, 34 passing TDs to just 5 INTs, 542 rushing yards, and 7 rushing TDs

Picture by Danielle Bynum

Player of the Playoffs

Konner Workman Sr. Delta High School; 356 yards rushing, 2 rushing TDs, 47 Total Tackles, 6 TFL, 4 Sacks, and 2 INTs (In the Playoffs)

Picture by Danielle Bynum

Offensive Player of the Year

Kasey Jones Sr. Alamosa High School; 2408 yards passing, 57% Completion, 25 passing TDs to 12 INTs, 533 yards rushing, 7 rushing TDs, contributed 76% of Alamosa total offense on the Year.

Picture by Vibrant Valley Photography

Defensive Player of the Year

Morgan Tribbett Sr. Eaton High School; 103 Total Tackles, 69 Solo Tackles, 30 TFL, 3 Fumble Recoveries, and 8 Sacks

Picture by Danielle Bynum

Newcomer of the Year: (Given to a first-year starter)

Coel Croissant Jr. University, 781 yards passing, 75% completion, 12 passing TDs to just 2 INTs, 781 yards rushing and 7 rushing TDs

Picture by Madyson Photography

Special Teams Player of the Year (Given to Kicker, Kick Returner or Punt Returner)

Evan Lapoure Sr. Classical Academy; 61 for 61 on PATs a perfect 100%.  8 for 14 on FGs 60% on FGs with a long of 48 yards

(Could use picture)

Surprise team of the Year

Montezuma-Cortez went 8-4 this season with a trip to the playoffs.  Also made a run to the Semifinals.  Last season they were 3-6 and did not make the playoffs.

(Could use picture)

Coach of the Year

Zac Lemon, Eaton High School

Picture by Nina’s Art (Check out there Facebook page)

Position Awards:

QB of the Year: Walker Martin Sr. Eaton; 2076 yards passing, 66.7 % Completion, 34 passing TDs to just 5 INTs, 542 yards rushing, and 7 rushing TDs

RB of the Year: Cooper Crawford Sr. Basalt; 1489 yards rushing, 8.1 yards per carry, and 21 rushing TDs

WR of the Year: Gabe Jackson Sr. D’Evelyn, 1148 yards receiving and 16 TDs

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Morgan Tribbett Sr. Eaton High School

Linebacker of the Year: Konner Workman Sr. Delta High School

Defensive Back of Year the Year: Brendan Sneller Sr. Lamar High School

Most Tackles: Corbin Miller Sr. The Academy (145 tackles)

Most Sacks: Konner Workman Sr. Delta (12 Sacks)

Most Interceptions: Cash Altschwager So. Wellington And Ivan Rodriguez Sr. Arvada (8 INTs)

Freshman Player of the Year: Colton Lucero Fr. Pagosa Springs

Sophomore Player of the Year: Cash Altschwager So. Wellington

Junior Player of the Year: Alex Larson Jr. Berthoud

Senior Player of the Year: Walker Martin Sr. Eaton

Class 2A Football All MileHigh Teams

1st Team Offense

QB Walker Martin Sr. Eaton High School

QB Kasey Jones Sr. Alamosa High School

QB Isiah Eliot Sr. The Academy

RB Cooper Crawford Sr. Basalt High School

RB Ethan Aragundi Sr. Classical Academy

RB Connor Rayburn Sr. Bennett High School

RB Esai Carrillo Jr. Delta High School

RB Ty Griffith Sr. Brush High School

WR Gabe Jackson Sr. D’Evelyn High School

WR Zac Grable Sr. Eaton High School

TE Tate Smith Sr. Eaton High School

Eaton Offensive Line (Alex Loyd Jr., Zack Maske Jr., Kaleb Meadows Jr., Dawson Fogg Jr., Charlie Fritzler Jr, Jacob Webster Sr.)

Delta Offensive Line (Xavier Martinez Jr., Ripp Lockhart So., Caleb Richman Jr., Shawn Wyatt Sr., Tucker Johnson Jr.)

Classical Academy Offensive Line (Dakota Montgomery Sr., Blake Van Tongeren Sr., Tanner Eide Sr., Levi Johnson Sr., Brayden Keller Sr.)

2nd Team Offense

QB Austin Bushlack Sr. D’Evelyn High School

QB Jack Blackmer Sr. Montezuma-Cortez High School

QB Levi Paxton Sr. Florence High School

QB Coel Croissant Jr. University High School

RB Alex Larson Jr. Berthoud High School

RB James Newton Sr. Bennett High School

RB Lincoln Nix Sr. Florence High School

RB Evan Atkin Sr. Moffat County High School

RB Cash Altschwager So. Wellington High School

WR Ethan Bucklack Sr. D’Evelyn High School

TE Jesiah Cornwell Sr. Florence High School

Basalt Offensive Line (Dayton Schenck Jr., Mav Dombrowski Jr., William Daniel So., Owen Lindt So., Kody Barton So.)

Montezuma-Cortez Offensive Line

University Offensive Line (Bryson Nichols Sr., Kordense Funk Sr., Paul Swanson Sr., Missing Two)

Bennett Offensive Line

Honorable Mention Offense

Howdy Johnson Jr. Platte Valley, Brandon Short Sr. Coal Ridge, Marcello Rossi So. Weld Central, J Donahue Sr. Academy, Logan Gross Jr. Rifle, Nicholas Saldidar Sr. Rifle, Ahmed Hussein Jr. Denver West, Tay Wheat So. Montezuma-Cortez, Aaron Aucoin Sr. Pagosa Springs, Jeremiah Martinez Sr. La Junta, RJ Meis Jr. Alamosa, Trevor Lucero Jr. Arvada, Jack Mauldin Sr. Faith Christian, Deyago Vasquez Jr. Lamar, Deegan Barnes Sr. Bayfield, Carson Campbell So. Englewood, Kade Schneider Sr. Basalt, Andrew Brown So. Classical Academy, Ty Reed So. Delta, Austin Moore Sr. Steamboat Springs, Derrek Rael Sr. Academy, Brant Jackson Jr. Alamosa, Evan Scherr Sr. Manitou Springs, Alamosa Offensive Line, The Academy Offensive Line, Elizabeth Offensive Line, Florence Offensive Line, Rifle Offensive Line, D’Evelyn Offensive Line, Berthoud Offensive Line, Moffat County Offensive Line,

1st Team Defense

DL Morgan Tribbett Sr. Eaton High School

DL Tucker Johnson Jr. Delta High School

DL Kade Street Sr. Rifle High School

LB Drew Johnson Sr. Salida High School

LB Konner Workman Sr. Delta High School

LB Ryder True Sr. Eaton High School

LB Ben Larsen Jr. Berthoud High School

LB Clay Sandridge Sr. Delta High School

LB Kyle Vanek Sr. D’Evelyn High School

DB Kade Jones Sr. Alamosa High School

DB Brendan Sneller Sr. Lamar High School

2nd Team Defense

DL Dakota Montgomery Sr. Classical Academy

DL Weston Sweigert Sr. Florence High School

DL Connor Stoltzfus Sr. Delta High School

DL Miles Frost Jr. Montezuma-Cortez High School

LB Blake Van Tongeren Sr. Classical Academy

LB Kian Baxley Sr. University High School

LB Aiden Hernandez Sr. Woodland Park High School

LB Joey Finnegan Jr. Berthoud High School

LB Noah Johnston Jr. Basalt High School

LB Cooper Connelley Jr. Elizabeth High School

DB Keaton Pickering Jr. Bayfield High School

DB Cort Murphy Sr. Moffat County

Honorable Mention Defense

Bryant Beaman Jr. Platte Valley, Austin Martinez Sr. Eaton, Chase Apodaca Sr. Englewood, Cody Lopez Sr. Alamosa, Chase Heck Sr. University, Will Daniel So. Basalt, Gunnar Clary So. Eaton, Zack Maske Jr. Eaton, Talen Hulet Jr. Delta, Kaden Rusin Sr. Classical Academy, Ryder Higgins Sr. Montezuma-Cortez, Parker Miller Jr. Rifle, Javani Gonzalez Sr. Rifle, Gunner Busetti Jr. Florence, Gage Goodall Jr. Florence, Isaak Copeland Sr. Bennett, Andres Mendoza So. Academy, Michael Voloshin Sr. Moffat County, Jacob Doyle Sr. Grand Valley, Kayden Taylor Jr. Fort Lupton, Grayson Isenhart So. Coal Ridge, Vince Hochhalter So. Timnath, Brennan Berryhill Sr. Faith Christian, Blake Herrman Sr. Valley, Cyler Troutner Jr. Weld Central, Gavin Lindahl Jr. Pagosa Springs, Conner Kelly Jr. Pagosa Springs, Levi Johnson Sr. Classical Academy