Football News

MileHigh Prep Reports 8-Man Football End of the Season Awards

Erika Alvero &

MileHigh Prep Reports 8-Man Football End of the Season Awards

My 2022 8-Man Football End of the Season Awards.  Picking is never easy and usually takes me a while to decide on any of these awards. I physically could not make every game, so I used stats and tried to watch any film available.  Making the playoffs and having a deep playoff run will matter with these awards.  Also, if you think I miss anyone I am open to looking at who you think I missed.  These are not easy to come up with.

Quick Note: If your team has not posted stats it is very hard for me to give awards to players with no stats even if your team is doing good, I cannot guess stats.

One other Note: For Offensive Lineman I am listing the entire Unit! If you know the name on the Unit Message me and I will add.  Remember all successful teams need a good offensive line!

Quick Note: Only one team per player, you cannot be on both offense or defense.

Player of the Year

Kade Hankins Sr. Dove Creek High School; 1154 yards passing, 63% completion, 17 passing TDs, 1707 yards rushing, 9.8 yards per carry, 22 rushing TDs, 86 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 Sack, 1 forced fumble, and 6 INTs

Erika Alvero &

Player of the Playoffs

Brayden Glover Sr. Simla High School; 370 yards rushing, 6 total TDs, 60 Total Tackles, 2 TFL, 1 Sack, 1 INT, 2 fumble recoveries, and 1 blocked punts (All in the playoffs)

Photos by Krys Fakir & Ranchland News

Offensive Player of the Year

Michael Gerk Sr. Haxtun High School; 1613 yards rushing, 10.5 yards per carry, 18 rushing TDs, broke 100 yards in all but 1 game, 1 passing TD, 468 yards receiving, and 3 receiving TDs

Picture by Joe Skerjanec & OTSportsChek 

Defensive Player of the Year

Quaden Huffaker Sr. Dove Creek High School, 169 Total Tackles, 27 Tackles for loss, 10 Sacks, 1 forced fumble, 3 fumble recoveries, and 1 defensive TD

Erika Alvero &

Newcomer of the Year: (Given to a first-year starter)

Ryland Wolff So. Haxtun High School; 1379 yards passing, 58.5% completion, 11 TDs to just 3 INTs, 1444 yards rushing, 12.6 yards per carry, and 20 rushing TDs

Picture by Joe Skerjanec & OTSportsChek 

Special Teams Player of the Year (Given to Kicker, Kick Returner or Punt Returner)

Arnol Bobadilla Sr. Holly High School; 38 for 39 on PATs 97% conversion, 6 for 8 on FGs with a long of 33 yards, 45 kickoffs averaging 41.3 yards per kick and 7 touchbacks

(Need Picture)

Surprise team of the Year

Hayden High School; went 6-4 this season with a trip to the playoffs.  Last season Hayden went 5-3 but Hayden has not been to the playoffs since 2012.

(Need Picture)

Coach of the Year

Shane Baughman, Dove Creek High School

Position Awards:

QB of the Year: Kade Hankins Sr. Dove Creek; 1154 yards passing, 17 passing TDs, 1707 yards rushing, 22 rushing TDs

RB of the Year: Michael Gerk Sr. Haxtun; 1707 yards rushing, 10.5 yards per carry, 18 rushing TDs

WR of the Year: Aiden Martinez Sr. McClave; 934 yards receiving and 14 TDs

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Macklin Tempel Sr. Haxtun High School

Linebacker of the Year: Quaden Huffaker Sr. Dove Creek High School

Defensive Back of Year the Year: Coen Schmidt So. Merino High School

Most Tackles: Quaden Huffaker (169 tackles)

Most Sacks: Kendall Gardner Sr. Dove Creek

Most Interceptions: Dylan Tamayo Sr. Holly

Freshman Player of the Year: Slayde Cohoon Fr. Springfield

CO-Sophomore Player of the Year: Caston Cox So. Simla & Ryland Wolff So. Haxtun

Junior Player of the Year: Kailin Kelley Jr. Haxtun

Senior Player of the Year: Kade Hankins Sr. Dove Creek

8-Man Football All MileHigh Teams

1st Team Offense

QB Kade Hankins Sr. Dove Creek High School

QB Caston Cox So. Simla High School

QB Ryland Wolff So. Haxtun High School

RB Michael Gerk Sr. Haxtun High School

RB Brayden Glover Sr. Simla High School

RB Wyatt Howell Sr. West Grand High School

RB Garlon Guerin Sr. Swink High School

WR Aiden Martinez Sr. McClave High School

WR Brent Bowker Jr. Simla High School

Dove Creek Offensive Line

Simla Offensive Line

Haxtun O-Line (Jake Tori, Brock Miller, Gehrig Thompson)

2nd Team Offense

QB Andre Salgado Jr. Holly High School

QB Ayden Mathews Sr. Mancos High School

QB Aydin Gomez Sr. McClave High School

RB Gage Buffington Jr. Dove Creek High School

RB Deacon Trenkle Sr. Merino High School

RB Malik Sigg-Brown Jr. Lyons High School

RB Gauge Lewis Sr. Sanford High School

WR/RB Kail Wayman So. Mancos High School

WR/RB Daunte Maldonado Sr. Holly High School

Mancos Offensive Line

Lyons Offensive Line

Holly Offensive Line

Sanford Offensive Line

Honorable Mention Offense

Cade Phillips Sr. Wiley, Ethan Whatmore Sr. Front Range Christian, Hunter Bauserman Jr. Swink, Chase Long So. Byers, Gage Gottbehuet Jr. Fowler, Cash Caldon Jr. Sanford, Seth Marick Sr. Caliche, Collin Polson So. Belleview Christian, Miles Dumbauld Jr. Lyons, Ryan McCaffrey Jr. Akron, Brayden Dale Sr. Hayden, Taylor Shull Sr. Vail Christian, Marsten Wagner Sr. Rangely, Logan LaFollette Jr. Elbert, Elijah Fusco Jr. Dayspring Christian, Tyler Frank Sr. Merino, Dillon Buford Sr. Crowley County, Elton Chavez Jr. John Mall, Ivan Losa Sr. Akron, Nolan Potts Sr. Front Range Christian, AJ Engle So. Byers, Matthew Norman Jr. Belleview Christian, Dev Jacobs Sr. Wiley, Evan Larrick Jr. Wiley, Tanner Gerk Sr. Caliche, Merino Offensive Line, West Grand Offensive Line, Crowley County Offensive Line, Dayspring Christian Offensive Line, Swink Offensive Line, Akron Offensive Line, Hayden Offensive Line, Vail Christian Offensive Line, McClave Offensive Line

1st Team Defense

DL Tyson Beanland Jr. Dove Creek

DL Willie Swennes Sr. Simla High School

DL Maclin Tempel Sr. Haxtun High School

DL Kendall Garnder Sr. Dove Creek High School

LB Quaden Huffaker Sr. Dove Creek High School

LB Kailin Kelley Jr. Haxtun High School

LB Aiden Jack Sr. Calhan High School

LB Tj Eurich So. Simla High School

DB Coen Schmidt So. Merino High School

2nd Team Defense

DL Cooper Tixier Sr. Wiley High School

DL Colby Swopes Sr. Holly High School

DL Dequlyn Keller Sr. Lyons High School

LB Anderson Filla So. Akron High School

LB Dylan Tamayo Jr. Holly High School

LB Kodi Ingols Sr. Hayden High School

LB Parker Vannoy Sr. Sanford High School

LB Dustin Glover Sr. Dove Creek High School

LB Skeeter Baker Sr. Crowley County High School

DB Kaiden Schelling Jr. Haxtun High School

Honorable Mention Defense

Taber Dejane Jr. Dove Creek, Jared Hodgson Jr. Simla, Wyatt Stanko So. Simla, Jonathan Zimmerman Sr. Simla, Keegan Colglazier Jr. Haxtun, Andrew Jaime Jr. Mancos, Chris Medina Jr. Mancos, Kaden Piel Jr. Merino, Dequlyn Keller Sr. Lyons, Lochlan Osborne Sr. Lyons, Bernard Espinoza Sr. John Mall, Dominique Maldonado Jr. Holly, McCray Larsen Sr. Sanford, Lincoln Reynolds Jr. Sanford, Braden Marks Sr. McClave, Cody Hawn Sr. Hayden, Brock Swedlund Jr. Akron, Ben Miner Jr. Swink, Landen Bonnell Sr. Dayspring Christian, Wyatt Shear Sr. West Grand, Evan Crandall So. West Grand, Logan Jack Sr. Calhan, Harrison Proctor Jr. Fowler, Jack Edwards Jr. Front Range Christian, Cole Dainty Guilfoyle So. Mancos, Devin Eaton So. Holly, Wes Gioia Sr. Hayden, Kevin Nayar Jr. Belleview Christian, Justin McCarroll Sr. Sanford, Davin Hunter Sr. Belleview Christian, Cole Taber Dove Creek