Boys and Girls Basketball News and Prediction Results

Class 1A Boys Basketball End of the Year Awards 2022/2023

Class 1A Boys Basketball End of the Year Awards 2022/2023

I would like to add a big Congratulations to Denver Jewish Day on winning the Class 1A Boys State Championship. This was a phenomenal state tournament and enjoyed the entire ride. Again, Congratulations to the Denver Jewish Day Tigers on the State Title.

I am sticking to a similar format as last year. Picking my All-MileHigh Teams is not easy.  I made sure if your team made it to state they at least get 1 player on a team and if you made it to regional at least a HM.  When comparing two similar players I go with teams that made it to regional over teams that did not.  If I do not have stats for your team, then I cannot pick a player.  I can get stat via Email, Maxpreps, messenger, or Hudl.  If you think I missed anyone shoot me a message or email.  Remember these awards are from MileHigh Prep Report.  CHSAA official All-state awards will be released later.   (Stats provided by

Player of the Year

Gavin Foonberg Sr. Denver Jewish Day

Freshmen of the Year

Rhyder Bayne Fr. Peetz High School

Picture By Heidi Krise & OTSportChek

Sophomore of the Year

Maddox Coleman So. Granada High School

Picture by Ty Lin Williams

Junior of the Year

Trey Smith Jr. Genoa-Hugo High School

Picture by Mayhan Photography

Senior of the Year

Aiden Martinez Sr. McClave High School

Picture by OTSportChek

Newcomers of the Year (A player receiving first big minutes of career.)

Jace Graham Fr. De Beque High School

Coach of the Year

Michael Foonberg, Denver Jewish Day

Surprise Team of the Year

Stratton High School, Went 10-12 last season and improved to 19-8 overall and a 3rd Place finish at the State Tournament

Picture by OTSportChek

Class 1A Boys All MileHigh Teams

1st Team All-MileHigh

Gavin Foonberg Sr. Denver Jewish Day

Trey Smith Jr. Genoa-Hugo/Karval

Nathaniel Owen Sr. Belleview Christian

Kade Hankins Sr. Dove Creek High School

John Hainer Sr. Granada High School

Aiden Martinez Sr. McClave High School

Andrew Zimmerman Sr. Denver Jewish Day

Brian Ontiveros Jr. Sierra Grande High School

Maddox Coleman So. Granada High School

Cyler Notter Jr. Stratton High School

Jack Willeke Sr. Otis High School

Ty Scheler Sr. Cheyenne Wells High School

Porter Spady Jr. Eads High School

Kale Morris Jr. Idalia High School

Tanner Fiscus Jr. Briggsdale High School

Joe Autry Sr. La Veta High School

2nd Team All-MileHigh

Ilan Schinagel Sr. Denver Jewish Day

Brandon Ewing So. Belleview Christian

Rhyder Bayne Fr. Peetz High School

Davin Hunter Sr. Belleview Christian

Von Isenbart Fr. Stratton High School

Aydin Gomez Sr. McClave High School

Sawyer Packer Jr. Otis High School

Evan Larrick Jr. Wiley High School

Braeden Harris Sr. Cheraw High School

Josiah Durrill Sr. Flatirons Academy

John Krise Sr. Briggsdale High School

Colby Batterton So. Springfield High School

Kaiden Smit Jr. Sangre De Cristo High School

Braylen Feather Sr. Fleming High School

Camden Bledsoe Sr. Flagler High School

Logan Wright Sr. Arickaree High School

Mile High Prep Report Honorable Mention

Keenan Winnerman Jr. Denver Jewish Day, Jagga Sandhu Jr. Belleview Christian, Daniel Tanner Sr. Stratton, Austin Webb Sr. Stratton, Connor Forgue Jr. McClave, Jonus Guverra Jr. Granada, Brandon Gonzales Sr. Granada, Charlie Kendrick So. Otis, Carter Wells Jr. Otis, Blake Gilmore Sr. Cheyenne Wells, Dane Lockhart Jr. Genoa-Hugo, Kyler Rowden-Stum Sr. Geona-Hugo, Cooper Tixier Sr. Wiley, Devon Louellien Sr. Wiley, Jace Parker Sr. Wiley, Manuel Miranda Jr. Sierra Grande, Aron Ojeda So. Sierra Grande, Tim Provost So. Cheraw, Cooper Stolebarger Jr. Springfield, Kurt Parks Jr. Springfield, Brentley Lening Jr. Eads, Pistol Chavez Fr. Flatirons Academy, Nolan Sheppard Sr. Flatirons Academy, Tanner Williams Sr. Dove Creek, Matthew VanDenBerghe Sr. Front Range Baptist, Alex Prelog Jr. Front Range Baptist, Cayden Quinn Fr. Denver Waldorf, Zachary Bauer Sr. Briggsdale, Andres Olivas Jr. Sangre De Cristo, Burke Largent Fr. De Beque, Scottie Vines Jr. De Beque, Ben Avner Sr. Denver Academy of Torah, Race Lessar Sr. La Veta, Trey Medina Jr. La Veta, Bex Seaman Jr. Hi-Plains, Kolten House Sr. Fleming, Nolan Japp Sr. Fleming, Logan Breyer Sr. Idalia, Brock Dollerschell Sr. Prairie, Jake King So. Arickaree, Steele Arnold Jr. Nucla, Diego Romero Sr. Centennial, Daniel Martinez Sr. Centennial, Noah Naegele Jr. Peetz, Chance Segelke Jr. Peetz, Trey Merrill Sr. Pikes Peak Christian, Gabriel Fletcher Sr. Pikes Peak Christian, DC Miller Sr. Ouray, Kortlan Nelson Jr. Ouray, Mats Ammerman Sr. Longmont Christian, Ziah Pesqueira Jr. Moffat, Ben Kyne Sr. Hanover, Brett Kendall So. Primero, Abraham Martinez Sr. Lone Star, Cy Borchardt Sr. Rocky Mountain Lutheran, Lane Runkle Jr. Walsh, Noble Cole Jr. Moffat, Jesus Barraza Jr. Bethune, Carson Noe Jr. Cheyenne Wells, Konner Rowden-Stum Jr. Genoa-Hugo/Karval, Jose Gallardo Jr. Stratton, Brycen Rummel Fr. Nucla, Eddie Harmon So. Pikes Peak Christian, Ryder Whitehorn Sr. Creede, Devon Vigil Jr. Centennial, Jace Graham Fr. De Beque, Cooper Seaman Sr. Hi-Plains, Connor Wollert Sr. Eads


1 thought on “Class 1A Boys Basketball End of the Year Awards 2022/2023”

  1. Hi this is Gavin Foonberg. Thank you so much for recognizing me as your player of the year and my father as the coach of the year. Can we start an email chain so I can send you photos of us?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s